Welcome to Cheshire.org.uk

A setting of pastoral peacefulness, of traditional farming and numerous country events, Cheshire borders the North West of England and West Midlands to the east, and northern Wales to the west. According to archaeological discoveries, the region has been inhabited since the Hoxnian Interglacial and was in turn occupied by Celts, Romans, Anglo-Saxons and Normans, much like its neighbouring territories. It was originally known as the County of Chester, which was later changed to Chestershire and gradually evolved into its current form. Today it is known as a ceremonial county, which differs from others in terms of local administration.

Cheshire is a low, predominantly rural area, known for the prevalence of agricultural activities. Once shaped by the retreat of glaciers, its landscape boasts wide pastures and mineral resources, such as sandstone and salt. The county is currently divided into four administrative constituencies known as unitary administrative areas: Cheshire West and Chester, Cheshire East, Warrington and Halton.

Its cities and towns, lively and intensely visited, are highly evocative of past eras by preserving historic sites and exploiting their touristic potential. With its sandstone walls and sash windows, traditional architecture is omnipresent; nowadays it is increasingly valued, as efforts are being made to preserve it.